Video Labs: Chapter #15-Development Throughout the Life Span

Piaget's Stages of Cognitive Development
Piaget's Stages of Cognitive Development

Cognitive development refers to age-related changes in information processing skills such as perception and memory. The most comprehensive theory of cognitive development was developed by Jean Piaget. Piaget suggested that cognitive development has two components: structure and function. Structure refers to what a child knows and function to how the child comes to know what he or she knows. Piaget also suggested that cognitive development progresses through four qualitatively different stages. This video reviews Piaget’s theory. Run Time: 5:51

Physical Attraction.jpg
Physical Attraction

A major developmental challenge of young adulthood is marriage and family. An important precursor to marriage is finding a potential mate. One factor that affects mate selection is eligibility, meaning that a person you are interested in must be available for a relationship. Another factor is physical attractiveness. Generally, we are most attracted to attractive compared to unattractive others. This tends to be especially true for males. This video covers some information about how physical attractiveness is defined and how it differs for men and women. Run Time: 6:14

Aging and Cognitive Abilities.jpg
Aging and Cognitive Abilities

There are many challenges facing people in late adulthood. The deaths of friends and family and one’s own approaching death are two examples. Another challenge is the decline in cognitive abilities that can accompany the aging process. Some elderly individuals experience a decline in their cognitive abilities (e.g., memory) as they get older. However, not all cognitive abilities decline with age. Some actually remain stable over time and others get better. This video explores some of the age-related changes in cognitive abilities. Run Time: 3:08

Other Video Resources - Crash Course Psychology

Crash Course #18.jpg
Crash Course #20.jpg